RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Tempers Weren’t the Cause of Fired Up Racing at Electric City Speedway

09 July 2011 | Featured News | |    

By Vikki Higginbotham

Fans at Electric City Speedway were given another great show on Saturday, July 9, 2011.  Moisture in the track’s surface allowed for dust free spectating and wonderful racing.  With only four classes on the schedule the features hosted 25 laps instead of the normal twenty.

During the Not So Pure Stock feature Larry Gonzales got a little high coming out of turn two and was sucked up against the backstretch wall causing him to roll over bringing out the red flag.  Fans held their breath waiting to see if Gonzales was okay and cheers went up as track officials and Marvin Gonzales assisted Larry out of an upside down car that had fluid leaking onto the track.  Just as officials righted the car, spectators were in awe as the leaking fluid was gasoline and the car was quickly consumed in a ball of flames.  Gonzales could only look on as fire crews put out the flames.  Though the driver is alright the car may take a bit longer to recover from the incident.  After racing resumed 15-year-old Kory the “Flying Werm” Wermling worked his way to the lead and fifth victory of the season.

Sean McBee was on a roll in the Midwest Modified class as his half a lap lead in the heat race had him geared up for the feature event.  At the start, McBee was caught up in a turn two incident that had three cars spun.  Chuck Bowley was given credit for causing the caution and sent to the back of the pack for the restart.  Many different leaders appeared in this feature.  Joey Ray led the first lap and a great battle between Ron Sasek and Joey Tinker ensued for the top spot.  Timothy McCune had his shot at the lead and was leading at the half way point.  Joey Tinker took another turn out front, but McBee was unstoppable and captured his third victory this season.

After a few weeks off at the speedway Kenneth (KJ) Hunter returned with determination.  Taking the early lead, Hunter shot out front and put a little distance on the field.  On lap sixteen Jim Davis and Michael Price got together and spun coming out of turn four directly in Hunter’s path.  With quick thinking KJ was able to get on the binders and avoid the wreck.  The restart had the field closing back up but Hunter again started to pull away from the field.  Fellow Deer Lodge drivers and Marvin Gonzales were battling for second behind him.  With four laps remaining, Kyle Jarvey lost a driveline and transmission and a little fire started as he got slowed down.  During the red flag, track officials let him know he was blowing a lot of smoke and Kenneth gave up his lead and pulled into the pits.  On the previous two laps he had been turning less RPMs than normal and was just hoping the motor held off until the finish.  No such luck.  Nick Hunter was slated the leader for the restart.  Paul Lease lost a tire that had him slowing down and giving up a top 5 finish.  Nick captured the victory followed by Marvin Gonzales and Beau Brown.

After five laps in the Super Stock feature Casey Steffenson had worked his way from an eighth place starting spot to the lead. After running up front in the early laps Birthday boy Jeremy Castro fell back in the pack due to being a little too tight.  As laps wound down and having to restart in the back of the field for an early race caution Pacer Popham was knocking on the door battling lap after lap behind Steffenson.  Pat LaMere was securely in third when a broken gas pedal had him slowing on the back stretch and eventually to a stop in the middle of turns three and four.  As Steffenson and Popham battled Chuck Fleming, leader at the start of the race, and Castro had worked their way up through the field for third and fourth place finishes.  Steffenson claimed another victory.

Scheduled to be at the track on Saturday, July 16, 2011 is Ken Schrader racing with the Modifieds.  Advance tickets are available through July 14, 2011 for $14.00 and will be $16.00 at the gate on race night.  Ken will be signing autographs for 45 minutes in the grandstands.  Additional parking is available in the Big Sky Bus Lines Lot up behind the grandstands.


Not So Pure Stocks

Heat #1 – JJ Johnson, Kory Wermling, Brian Chaon, Patrick Harvie, Carl Sangrey, Darcy Wall, Larry Gonzales

Heat #1 – Cody Ryan, Bill Handel, Matt O’Connell, Stephan Foley, Shannon Cote, Rick Barkman (DNF)

Feature – Wermling, Harvie, Ryan, Handel, O’Connell, Sangrey, Chaon, Johnson, Cote, Foley, Wall, Gonzales (DNF), Barkman (DNS)


Midwest Modifieds

Heat #1 – Sean McBee, Jerry Sangrey Jr., Joey Tinker, Joey Ray, Aaron Liscum (DNF), Marty Harvie (DNF), Jeramy Myers (DNF)

Heat #2 – Ron Sasek, Timothy McCune, Chris Hill, Chuck Bowley, Jonathan Scarber, Jim Myre (DNF), Joey Price (DNF)

Feature – McBee, McCune, Liscum, Tinker, Hill, Sasek, Sangrey Jr., Bowley, Price, Ray (DNF), Harvie (DNF), Myers (DNF), Scarber (DNF), Myre (DNS)


Street Stocks

Heat #1 – Warren Samoy, Nick Hunter, Paul Lease, Kenneth Hunter, Ron Mattern, Kyle Jarvey

Heat #2 – Beau Brown, Marvin Gonzales, Troy Weninger, Jim Davis, Jeff Sekuterski, Michael Price (DNS)

Feature – N. Hunter, Gonzales, Brown, Weninger, Mattern, Sekuterski, Davis, Lease, K. Hunter (DNF), Jarvey (DNF), Samoy (DNF), Price(DNF)


 Super Stocks

Heat #1 – Dolan Sevalstad, Casey Steffenson, Pacer Popham, Rowdy Gillen, Mike Pistelak, Clay Irwin

Heat #2 – Chuck Fleming, Jeremy Castro, Rich Wermling, Jake Tucker, Pat LaMere, Dorn Jeske

Feature – Steffenson, Popham, Fleming, Castro, Pistelak, Wermling, Irwin, Gillen, LaMere (DNF), Tucker (DNF), Sevalstad (DNF), Jeske (DNF)