RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Smiley Returns to Electric City Speedway

01 August 2012 | Featured News | |    


By Vikki Higginbotham

Saturday, July 28, 2012 saw the return of “Smiley” at the speedway.  After Mother Nature tore it down earlier in the season track promoters Dan and Barbara Mann promised the return of the 23 year tradition of the Smiley face in the center of turns three and four.  The arrival of “Smiley” coincided with Kid’s Night.  During the intermission all the children in the grandstands were led down in front of the new and improved Smiley banner and released 23 yellow balloons to commemorate the occasion.  Afterwards the kids were given time to join their favorite drivers on the front stretch for photos and autographs.

In racing action the WISSOTA Street Stocks Jeff Sekuterski, Kyle Jarvey, and Marvin Gonzales were victorious in the heats.  After three cautions flew in the feature the Yellow and Black flags were displayed to the field informing the drivers that any further cautions would have the person who caused it sent to the pits.  Cody Ryan worked his way to the front of the field and started pulling away, but after driving it into the corner a little too hard Ryan spun with four laps to go.  The caution flew after a melee occurred when the pack caught up with him.  Ryan’s car suffered some damage and he was done for the night.  Three more cautions flew before Marvin Gonzales brought his car to victory.

Jerry Martin, Paul Leach, and Doug LaPierre captured the heats in the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds.  During a racing incident in the feature Patrick Harvie rolled into the back infield pit lane bringing the red flag out.  After a close inspection by tech officials Harvie returned to the track to finish eleventh of nineteen.  The Yellow/Black flew for the Midwest Modifieds as well and a few drivers were sent to the pits after causing a restart.  Making his way to the front of the pack, Doug LaPierre captured his fifth victory of 2012.

Pacer Popham swept the heat and feature in the WISSOTA Super Stocks.  Pat LaMere suffered damage in the first caution of the feature and after the restart had to pull off.

Losing a drive shaft seems to be the ongoing battle with the WISSOTA Modifieds this season.  Maurice Myre was victim to the drive shaft issue in the second heat.  Jody Kropp took the first heat with Chad Johnson victorious in the second.  At the start of the feature Kropp lost his drive shaft ending his bid for a win.  The Yellow/Black rule came into effect in the event and Johnson, Jesse Baertsch and Sean Higginbotham were sent out after their spins in turns three and four.  The final lap of the feature had leader Mark Wermling suffering damage when attempting to pass Pat Wallace on the back stretch.  Though Wermling held on through turn four, Hill reached the finish line ahead of him.  Wermling managed to get a second place finish.

Next Week:  The Celebration of Life/Amsoil Qualifier with the WISSOTA Street Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Super Stocks and Modifieds.

Mark your calendars:  Quigley’s North American Sprint Tour returns to Great Falls on August 15, 2012 and August 18, 2012.  The Street Stocks and Supers will be in attendance both nights and Modifieds are set to join them on the 18th.


WISSOTA Street Stocks

Heat #1 – Jeff Sekuterski, Troy Weninger, Cody Ryan, Kory Wermling, Casey Durand

Heat #2 – Kyle Jarvey, Warren Samoy, Stephan Foley, Curt Beck, Brad Norris

Heat #3 – Marvin Gonzales, Ron Mattern, Frank Pearson, Bill Handel, Del Voss

Feature – Gonzales, Weninger, Sekuterski, Jarvey, Foley, Beck, Wermling, Norris, Voss, Handel, Samoy, Mattern, Ryan, Durand, Pearson


WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds

Heat #1 – Jerry Martin, Taylor Falkenhagen, Jim Myre, Jerry Sangrey Jr., Zach Olson, Ron Sasek, Bob Price

Heat #2 – Paul Leach, Chris Hill, Dave McCune, JJ Johnson, Bobby Myre, Mike Pistelak

Heat #3 – Doug LaPierre, Scott Joslyn, Patrick Harvie, Ronnie Harvie, Jake Tacke, Tim McCune

Feature – LaPierre, Joslyn, Leach, Martin, Hill, Sangrey Jr., T. McCune, Pistelak, J. Myre, Falkenhagen, P. Harvie, Olson, R. Harvie, Tacke, Johnson, B. Myre, D. McCune, Price, Sasek


WISSOTA Super Stock

Heat – Pacer Popham, Pat LaMere, Curt Popham, Chuck Fleming, Sharid Lee, Rich Wermling, Jake Tucker, Alex Wermling, Shaun Crouch

Feature – P. Popham, Tucker, Fleming, C. Popham, R. Wermling, Lee, Crouch, A. Wermling, LaMere


WISSOTA Modified

Heat #1 – Jody Kropp, Gary Hill, Mark Wermling, Jerry Baertsch, Sean Higginbotham, Jesse Baertsch

Heat #2 – Chad Johnson, John Price, Pat Wallace, Paul Leach, Maurice Myre

Feature – Hill, Wermling, Myre, Price, Leach, Wallace, Jerry Baertsch, Higginbotham, Jesse Baertsch, Johnson, Kropp