RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Jeramy Myers Takes First Career Victory

25 June 2012 | Featured News | |    

By Vikki Higginbotham
Electric City Speedway hosted the WISSOTA Late Models, Super Stocks, Midwest Modifieds and Street Stocks this past Saturday. Throughout the week promoter Dan Mann spent some time adding extra clay to the track’s surface and preparing for the event. Many drivers said at the end of the racing event that the track had a smoother surface that quickly turned into dry slick. What this meant for the fans… much closer racing and a chance to watch a couple of firsts again this week.
With only a couple of spins in the WISSOTA Super Stock heat, a green-white-checkered finish had Casey Steffenson coming out as the victor. The newly implemented “After the third caution, anyone causing a restart would be sent to the pits.” rule came into effect in the feature after spins caused by Jake Tucker, Curt Popham and Clay Irwin. Alex Wermling brought out the fourth caution with a spin in turn four. Mike Pistelak spun in turn two just after taking the lead from Steffenson and had to retire his car for the evening as well. Steffenson found himself in victory lane when the final flag flew on the event.
Three heats of WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds took to the track second in the rotation. In caution free heats Jeramy Myers, Doug Lapierre and Zach Olson led their respective fields to the checkered flag. Dusty Muzzana jumped into Patrick Harvie’s car for the evening. In the heat Muzzana had transmission issues that resulted in flames shooting out from under the car on the final lap. The feature had Myers and Joey Ray starting on the front row. Myers was on rails. Doug Lapierre and Zach Olson each made a bid against Myers in the final laps but neither driver could get around him. After a couple seasons filled with a lot of heartbreak Myers claimed his first career victory.
Returning to the speedway for their second full event this season the WISSOTA Late Models ran a single heat. Billings driver Kelly Hample started on the pole and finished in the top spot with Jody Kropp finishing second. A racing incident at the start of the feature had Bradley Kerrison facing the opposite direction and a full restart realigned the field. A spin by Mick Halverson was the only other caution in the event. Hample swept up the feature receiving the victory.
Rounding out the evening were the WISSOTA Street Stocks. In the first of two heats, Ron Mattern was victorious after a tight battle early on in the event. Marvin Gonzales worked his way from a sixth place starting position to the front of the field in heat two. During the feature Stephan Foley brought out the only caution with a spin in turn two. BJ Warehime was out in front in the early laps, but lost the lead to Donavon Sorenson as the laps wound down. The long drive home to Williston, ND has been made a little easier for Sorenson as he captured his first feature win.
The next couple of weeks will be very busy for the speedway as the next event is scheduled for Saturday, June 30, 2012 featuring the WISSOTA Street Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Super Stocks and Modifieds.
It doesn’t end there either. As said many times before the place to be on Independence Day is the Speedway! Racing will resume with the WISSOTA Street Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Super Stocks and Modifieds on July 4, 2012. Watch some great racing action with a full panoramic view of the Electric City. It is the perfect seat for the city’s fireworks display and viewing of the celebrating across the city.
Wednesday July 11, 2012 the ASCS National Sprint Tour will be running with the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds. Details can be found at
WISSOTA Super Stocks
Heat – Casey Steffenson, Curt Popham, Jake Tucker, Rowdy Gillen, Mike Pistelak, Pacer Popham, Alex Wermling, Clay Irwin, Pat LaMere
Feature – Steffenson, Tucker, LaMere, P. Popham, Gillen, Irwin, Pistelak, C. Popham, Wermling
WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds
Heat #1 – Jeramy Myers, Chris Hill, Joey Ray, Ronnie Harvie, Michael Shure, Dusty Muzzana
Heat #2 – Doug Lapierre, Paul Leach, Joey Price, Taylor Falkenhagen, Dave McCune, Mike Pistelak
Heat #3 – Zach Olson, Aaron Liscum, Tim McCune, Ron Sasek, Jake Tacke
Feature – Myers, Olson, Lapierre, Sasek, Hill, Price, Liscum, Pistelak, Harvie, Tacke, D. McCune, Falkenhagen, Ray, Leach, Shure, T. McCune, Muzzana
WISSOTA Late Models
Heat – Kelly Hample, Jody Kropp, Rory Minster, Chad Johnson, Bradley Kerrison, Chris Dunn, Mick Halverson, JD Olsen, Pacer Popham
Feature – Hample, Dunn, Johnson, Kerrison, Minster, Kropp, Halverson, Popham, Olsen
WISSOTA Street Stocks
Heat #1 – Ron Mattern, Donavon Sorenson, Brad Norris, Troy Weninger, Michael Price, Stephan Foley, Ron Imberi
Heat #2 – Marvin Gonzales, Cody Ryan, BJ Warehime, Kyle Jarvey, John Johnson, Shannon Cote, Tom Miesmer
Feature – Sorenson, Warehime, Ryan, Norris, Weninger, Gonzales, Mattern, Jarvey, Imberi, Foley, Price, Miesmer, Cote, Johnson