RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Electric City Speedway Races Wednesday & Saturday

16 July 2012 | Featured News | |    

By Vikki Higginbotham
A busy week just transpired at Electric City Speedway as they hosted two events. Wednesday, July 11, 2012 had the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds joining the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series. Saturday, July 14, 2012 the WISSOTA Street Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Super Stocks and Modifieds took to the track for their regularly scheduled event.
The Wednesday event had sixteen Midwest Modifieds set to battle for the feature win. In the two heat events Zach Olson and Mike Pistelak were victorious. The feature event had Jerry Sangrey Jr., Chris Hill, and Mike Pistelak battling the laps and each other to determine the winner. In the final laps Pistelak crossed the checkers with Hill and Sangrey Jr. finishing second and third. Zach Olson, coming off of a feature win at BMP Speedway, finished in the fourth position.
Brock Lemley captured his first National ASCS Feature win in front of the hometown crowd of car owners Richie and Nubby Peterson.
After over a week of extreme temperatures Saturday’s forecast was rather bleak to get racing in. Keeping an eye on the weather drivers, fans and track officials were set for a full night of racing.
Starting the evening off the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds took to the track in three heats. Dave McCune, Jerry Sangrey Jr. and Paul Leach captured the top spot in their respective races. The feature event was red flagged in the late laps due to Jake Tucker scattering fluid and rear end parts across the backstretch. After the track was cleared Doug LaPierre kept Paul Leach behind him to claim his fourth victory this season.
The WISSOTA Super Stocks gained another entry as Rich Wermling joined his son Alex on the track. In the heat Curt Popham led the field across the finish line. The feature had the cars of brothers Curt and Pacer Popham in the front once again. At the end of twenty-five laps Pacer defeated his brother.
Jody Kropp and Maurice Myre grabbed heat victories in the WISSOTA Modifieds. Paul Leach, who was driving a perfect race in his heat, lost a driveline and was out for the night. The beginning of the feature had drivers colliding in turn two. Jody Kropp took the brunt of the damage and was unable to continue. The final laps held great racing as Maurice Myre and Gary Hill ran side by side in their quest for the lead. At the white flag they were within a few feet of each other. Myre managed to hold off Hill in a close finish.
A tight points battle has developed in the WISSOTA Street Stocks between Marvin Gonzales, Troy Weninger, and Cody Ryan. The first heat had these drivers running together. Gonzales finished the heat ahead of Ryan and Weninger adding to his lead in the standings. Ron Mattern took the second heat. The feature held an early caution that put Gonzales to the back of the field for the restart. Powering his way through the field Gonzales came up just short of the victory. Troy Weninger claimed his second win this season. Ryan came in third. The points may have been shaken slightly, but Gonzales still maintains the lead.
Next Week: Christmas in July with the WISSOTA Street Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Super Stocks and Late Models.

July 11, 2012 RESULTS
ASCS Sprints | ASCS National
A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 23N-Brock Lemley[4]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[8]; 3. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 4. 45x-Johnny Herrera[1]; 5. 9-Gary Wright[6]; 6. 05-Brad Loyet[18]; 7. 2-Dustin Morgan[5]; 8. 99-Brady Bacon[12]; 9. 5h-Logan Forler[15]; 10. 77x-Wayne Johnson[17]; 11. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[9]; 12. 27dd-David Hoiness[10]; 13. 9x-Sean MacDonell[2]; 14. 37-Trever Kirkland[7]; 15. 27-Drew MacDonell[13]; 16. 31-Colton Akerstrom[21]; 17. 19-Dennis MacEachern[11]; 18. 35-Chip Rowe[16]; DNF 1x-Vernon Hill[14]; DNF 98-Joe Ramaker[20]; DNF 44-Kelly Miller[22]; DNF 3-Kelly Trerice[19]
B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 77x-Wayne Johnson[1]; 2. 05-Brad Loyet[3]; 3. 3-Kelly Trerice[6]; 4. 98-Joe Ramaker[5]; 5. 31-Colton Akerstrom[10]; 6. 44-Kelly Miller[7]; 7. 28-Joe Perry[4]; 8. 2x-Kyle Evans[2]; 9. 2w-Wheeler Boys[9]; DNF 77-Mark Sweet[8]
Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 45x-Johnny Herrera[6]; 2. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 3. 19-Dennis MacEachern[3]; 4. 1x-Vernon Hill[4]; 5. 27-Drew MacDonell[7]; 6. 3-Kelly Trerice[5]; 7. 31-Colton Akerstrom[1]
Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 23N-Brock Lemley[1]; 2. 2-Dustin Morgan[6]; 3. 99-Brady Bacon[2]; 4. 5h-Logan Forler[4]; 5. 28-Joe Perry; 6. 44-Kelly Miller[5]; 7. 2w-Wheeler Boys[7]
Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[1]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 3. 9-Gary Wright[5]; 4. 77x-Wayne Johnson[2]; 5. 05-Brad Loyet[4]; DNF 98-Joe Ramaker[6]
Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 37-Trever Kirkland[1]; 2. 9x-Sean MacDonell[3]; 3. 27dd-David Hoiness[4]; 4. 2x-Kyle Evans[2]; 5. 35-Chip Rowe[6]; 6. 77-Mark Sweet[5]

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds
Heat #1 – Zach Olson, Chris Hill, Daron Falkenhagen, Dave McCune, Jake Tacke, Aaron Liscum, Jim Myre, Tim McCune
Heat #2 – Mike Pistelak, Jerry Sangrey Jr., Jeramy Myers, Ron Sasek, Patrick Harvie, Joey Tinker, Jerry Hill, JJ Johnson
Feature – Pistelak, C. Hill, Sangrey Jr., Olson, Myers, Tacke, Tinker, Liscum, Harvie, Myre, D. McCune, Falkenhagen, J. Hill, Sasek, Johnson, T. McCune

July 14, 2012 RESULTS:
WISSOTA Super Stocks
Heat – Curt Popham, Casey Steffenson, Pacer Popham, Pat LaMere, Sharid Lee, Jake Tucker, Rich Wermling, Alex Wermling
Feature – P. Popham, C. Popham, R. Wermling, LaMere, A. Wermling, Steffenson, Lee, Tucker
WISSOTA Street Stocks
Heat #1 – Marvin Gonzales, Troy Weninger, Cody Ryan, Bill Handel, Curt Beck, JT No Runner, Michael Price
Heat #2 – Ron Mattern, Kory Wermling, Ron Imberi, Casey Durand, Stephan Foley, Del Voss
Feature – Weninger, Gonzales, Ryan, Foley, Durand, Handel, Beck, Mattern, No Runner, Imberi, Wermling, Price, Voss
WISSOTA Modifieds
Heat #1 – Jody Kropp, Chad Johnson, Gary Hill, Jerry Baertsch, Jesse Baertsch, Dave Freeman
Heat #2 – Maurice Myre, John Price, Pat Wallace, Sean Higginbotham, Paul Leach
Feature – Myre, Hill, Johnson, Price, Wallace, Jerry Baertsch, Higginbotham, Freeman, Kropp, Leach, Jesse Baertsch
WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds
Heat #1 – Dave McCune, Jim Myre, Bobby Myre, Aaron Liscum, Jake Tucker, Bob Price, JJ Johnson
Heat #2 – Jerry Sangrey Jr., Jake Tacke, Patrick Harvie, Ron Sasek, Jerry Hill, Chris Hill
Heat #3 – Paul Leach, Doug LaPierre, Beau Brown, Mike Pistelak, Michael Shure, Jeramy Myers
Feature – LaPierre, Leach, Sangrey Jr., Pistelak, J. Myre, Tacke, Harvie, Liscum, Sasek, McCune, Tucker, Johnson, J. Hill, Brown, C. Hill, Price, B. Myre, Shure, Myers