RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Electric City Speedway Celebrates Independence Day

16 July 2012 | Featured News | |    

By Vikki Higginbotham
Sunny clear skies greeted racing fans on Independence Day at Electric City Speedway. The perfect panoramic view of the city on the horizon and great racing was on the card for the night.
The WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds started the evening off with three heats. Coming out victorious were Paul Leach, Doug LaPierre and Jeramy Myers. Starting in mid pack Doug LaPierre powered his way through the field to claim his second victory in as many weeks.
The WISSOTA Street Stocks also ran three heats with Kory Wermling, Marvin Gonzales, and Dwayne Fowler taking the top spots. As the class was to take to the field for their feature each driver held and American Flag with Brenton Collins carrying the POW/MIA flag. Led by track promoter Dan Mann the drivers made three wide parade laps as Lee Greenwood’s “God Bless the U.S.A.” played over the speakers. In a single caution event, Marvin Gonzales took his fifth place starting position and turned it into a first place finish.
Curt Popham led the field of WISSOTA Super Stocks to victory in their single heat. A two caution feature for spins both credited to Alex Wermling found Casey Steffenson adding another feature win to his collection.
Gary Hill and Jody Kropp were victorious in the two WISSOTA Modified Heats. Paul Leach took an early lead in the feature. Multiple cautions and the upcoming time for the city’s fireworks display didn’t distract Leach from his mission. A final Green-White-Checkered finish had fans watching both Leach and the beginning of the spectacular display the city puts on every year.
The Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series comes to the speedway on Wednesday, July 11, 2011 with the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds set to join them. Advanced discounted ticket sales are available on Monday and Tuesday July 9-10 between 4:30 to 7:00 pm at the main (upper) ticket windows with Credit/Debit cards being accepted. Phone orders and “will call” are available. Call 406-453-8519 with charge card ready, 9:00 am to 6:00 pm MDT, through Tuesday July 10, 2012. Ticket gates open at 5:00 pm on Wednesday, July 11, 2012. Additional parking will be available through the Big Sky Bus Lines parking lot starting at the same time. If parking in the bus lot, please remember to remove your vehicle before going down into the pits after the event.
The regular classes of WISSOTA Street Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Super Stocks and Modifieds return to the speedway on Saturday, July 14, 2012.
WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds
Heat #1 – Paul Leach, Josh Olsen, Zach Olson, Taylor Falkenhagen, Jim Myre, Dave McCune, Patrick Harvie, Jerry Hill
Heat #2 – Doug LaPierre, Chris Hill, Joey Tinker, Joey Ray, Ron Sasek, Ronnie Harvie, Bobby Myre, Bob Price
Heat #3 – Jeramy Myers, Jerry Sangrey Jr., Aaron Liscum, Mike Pistelak, Jake Tacke, Tim McCune, Michael Shure
Feature – LaPierre, Leach, Tinker, C. Hill, Myers, Olson, J. Myre, D. McCune, Falkenhagen, R. Harvie, Liscum, P. Harvie, Pistelak, Tacke, Sangrey Jr., Sasek, T. McCune, J. Hill, B. Myre, Ray, Price, Olsen, Shure
WISSOTA Street Stocks
Heat #1 – Kory Wermling, Troy Weninger, Brad Norris, Stephan Foley, Cory Craver, JT No Runner
Heat #2 – Marvin Gonzales, Cody Ryan, Donavon Sorenson, Ron Mattern, Brenton Collins
Heat #3 – Dwayne Fowler, Jeff Sekuterski, Bill Handel, JJ Johnson, Michael Price
Feature – Gonzales, Weninger, Ryan, Wermling, Fowler, Sekuterski, Mattern, Handel, Craver, Foley, Johnson, Collins, Sorenson, No Runner, Norris, Price
WISSOTA Super Stocks
Heat – Curt Popham, Casey Steffenson, Pacer Popham, Rowdy Gillen, Pat LaMere, Jake Tucker, Alex Wermling, Mike Pistelak
Feature – Steffenson, C. Popham, Tucker, LaMere, Gillen, Wermling, P. Popham, Pistelak
WISSOTA Modifieds
Heat #1 – Gary Hill, Dave Azure, Maurice Myre, Paul Leach, Jerry Baertsch, Sean Higginbotham
Heat #2 – Jody Kropp, John Price, Chad Johnson, Pat Wallace, Sean McBee
Feature – Leach, Hill, McBee, Wallace, Kropp, Myre, Johnson, Azure, Price, Higginbotham, Baertsch