RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Electric City Celebrates Its 2010 Champions

10 March 2011 | Featured News | |    

By Vikki Higginbotham

The 2010 Electric City Speedway Awards Banquet was held on March 12, 2011 at the Knights of Columbus Hall in Great Falls, Montana.  Drivers, their families, crews and fans were treated to a delicious pork dinner and dessert of pineapple upside down cake or German chocolate cake.  Track promoter Dan Mann began with a 2011 season preview by updating racers with the new rule changes for both WISSOTA and the supporting Not So Pure Stock class.  This class will be allowed to run any 8” Hoosier giving the upper class drivers an outlet for all the tires they currently have as the new WISSOTA tire rules call for a newer tire and compound.  He also announced some upcoming special events with details to follow at a later date.

Marty Harvie took a little time to thank everyone for a successful Motorsports Swap Meet, which was held on February 19th and 20th.  Plans are to keep this an annual event.  Dan also thanked Marty for his efforts in moving fill dirt around at the speedway allowing for a little more parking.

Trophy presentations started with the WISSOTA Late Models.  Rory Minster took home the third place.  Dave Smith from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada finished his season in second.  Capturing the track championship and WISSOTA Montana State Championship was Jim Zaremski. 

Modified drivers receiving awards were Rookie of the Year Jerry Baertsch, third place Joey Price, second Chad Johnson, who also took Montana State Championship.  Mark Wermling claimed his 8th track championship in his 25th year career and 20th as a Modified driver.  Wermling also took home the WISSOTA Western Region championship. 

Some new faces topped the Super Stock standings in 2010.  Rookie driver Dolan Sevelstad had his arms full with both the Rookie of the Year honors and third place trophies.  Mike Pistelak finished in second.  Jake Tucker rounded out the class as their Champion.

With the addition of the Midwest Modified class to the track’s roster no Rookie of the Year award was given.  Taylor Falkenhagen finished in third, Vernon Hill second, and the track’s first Midwest Modified Championship was awarded to Joey Tinker.  Tinker took the Montana State Championship as well.

The Deer Lodge Street Gang  finished 1, 2, 3 this past season, but top dog Paul Lease was unable to attend the function so it was rather quiet.  Accepting Rookie of the Year was Jim Davis.  Finishing second and third were Nick Hunter and Beau Brown respectively.  Beau was remarking that instead of “Who’s Paul?” and “Paul Who?” they should have worn “Where’s Paul?” shirts.  2011 looks to be an interesting season with these guys for sure.

In his first eligible season at age 14 to race Kory Wermling, son of Mark Wermling, excelled in his Not So Pure Stock.  Finishing 7th of 32 drivers he received the Rookie of the Year award.  Greg Azure captured third place by only 1 point over 4th place finisher Cody Ryan.  In what could be considered friendly competition,  Sean McBee and Brice Miesmer, a multi-generational racer,  battled throughout the season each claiming multiple feature victories for the top spot in the class.  Miesmer edged McBee out by only 8 points taking his first track championship.