RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Dave Freeman Back in Victory Lane at Electric City Speedway

27 August 2012 | Featured News | |    


By Vikki Higginbotham

The WISSOTA Late Models were on hand at Electric City Speedway on August 25, 2012.  Joining them were the WISSOTA Street Stocks, Midwest Modifieds and Super Stocks.

The WISSOTA Street Stocks found a few different names out on top at the end of the heats.  Michael Price, Kory Wermling and Taylor Martin were the victors.  In the feature, Martin didn’t fare as well and was the first car out of the event.  Cody Ryan had a double run of bad luck as he ran his event.  After finding himself up on the tires in turn four Ryan made his way back onto the track with the help of Carl’s Exxon’s wrecker.  After a few laps he had to pull in with engine troubles.  Starting from the eighth position, Marvin Gonzales found his way to the front and to his third victory in a row.

Chuck Fleming and Pacer Popham took the WISSOTA Super Stock heats.  After a spin in turn two on the initial start the drivers got into a rhythm of racing with Jake Tucker out in front.  A caution flew for Dolan Sevalstad losing a spring as he was attempting to get off the track in the turn one upper pit entrance.  Curt Popham used the restart to his advantage and made his way around Tucker.  Curt wasn’t in the clear for a victory though.  His brother Pacer was closing in quickly.  As the brothers were coming to the white flag side by side, Pacer made his move and the victory was his.

The WISSOTA Late Models had a little excitement in their second of two heats as JD Olsen went up on the backstretch wall and rode it most of the way down.  The height of the wall helped prevent Olsen from rolling completely over, but his car suffered major damage to the right side.  Kelly Hample and Jody Kropp were the heat winners.  With the help of a few of his competitors, family and other racers Olsen was back out for the feature event.  Starting from the pole position, Dave Freeman took the cautions in stride.  Leading the entire event Freeman captured the victory.  Speedway fans were thrilled to see the 11x back in victory lane.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds finished off the evening with Zach Olson, Doug LaPierre and Paul Leach as heat victors.  The first caution of the feature had LaPierre restarting in the back of the field of seventeen.  Zack Olson battled with Chris Hill and Tim McCune for the lead in the early laps.  After making his way to the front Olson was unstoppable.  As Olson was collecting the checkered flag for his parade lap LaPierre pulled up beside him to give his congratulations.


WISSOTA Street Stocks

Heat #1 – Michael Price, Cody Ryan, Bill Handel, Ron Mattern, Curt Beck, Del Voss

Heat #2 – Kory Wermling, Marvin Gonzales, Stephan Foley, Troy Weninger, Casey Durand

Heat #3 – Taylor Martin, Brad Norris, Jeff Sekuterski, Kyle Jarvey, Frank Pearson

Feature – Gonzales, Norris, Weninger, Mattern, Sekuterski, Price, Pearson, Wermling, Handel, Beck, Voss, Durand, Ryan, Foley, Jarvey, Martin

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds

Heat #1 – Zach Olson, Marty Harvie, Tim McCune, Jacob Tacke, Jerry Sangrey Jr., Jeramy Myers

Heat #2 – Doug LaPierre, Patrick Harvie, Chris Hill, Jeremy Olds, JJ Johnson, Bob Price

Heat #3 – Paul Leach, Ronnie Harvie, Ron Sasek, Joey Ray, Joey Price

Feature – Olson, McCune, R. Harvie, J. Price, M. Harvie, Leach, Hill, LaPierre, Sasek, P. Harvie, Tacke, Johnson, Olds, Myers, Sangrey Jr., Ray, B. Price

WISSOTA Super Stocks

Heat #1 – Chuck Fleming, John Lighthizer, Jake Tucker, Pat LaMere, Sharid Lee, Rowdy Gillen, Mike Pistelak

Heat #2 – Pacer Popham, Rich Wermling, Curt Popham, Casey Steffenson, Shaun Crouch, Dolan Sevalstad

Feature – P. Popham, C. Popham, Steffenson, Tucker, LaMere, Pistelak, Fleming, Wermling, Crouch, Gillen, Lighthizer, Sevalstad, Lee

WISSOTA Late Models

Heat #1 – Kelly Hample, Rock Degele, Steve Fowler, Chris Dunn, Mike McCord, John Lighthizer

Heat #2 – Jody Kropp, Dave Freeman, Rory Minster, Chad Johnson, JD Olsen, Pacer Popham

Feature – Freeman, Minster, Degele, McCord, Dunn, Johnson, Fowler, Olsen, Lighthizer, Kropp, Hample, Popham

UP NEXT:  The final two races of the season are upon us.  Friday, August 31, 2012 Electric City Speedway hosts its first night of the 19TH Annual Montana Round Up with Sprints, WISSOTA Late Models, Street Stocks & Midwest Modifieds.  TRACK CHAMPIONSHIPS will be decided on Saturday, September 1, 2012.  Joining the WISSOTA Street Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Super Stocks and Modifieds will be the WISSOTA Late Models and Big Sky Sprints.  This will be the final event for Electric City Speedway in 2012!  Don’t miss a minute of it!

Also racing on September 1, 2012 and September 2, 2012 will be the Mountain Country Quarter Midget Association.  Their events will begin at 10:00 am on both days at 4900 10th Avenue South (The Old Big R parking lot).  Please come out and support the kids as they race their hearts out.

Track Points Top 5

WISSOTA Street Stocks

Marvin Gonzales, Troy Weninger (-11), Cody Ryan (-44), Ron Mattern (-117), Stephan Foley (-148)

WISSOTA Midwest Modified

Doug LaPierre, Zach Olson (-93), Chris Hill (-100), Ron Sasek (-150), Jake Tacke (-156)

WISSOTA Super Stocks

Curt Popham, Pat LaMere (-40), Jake Tucker (-44), Pacer Popham (-107), Casey Steffenson (-121)

WISSOTA Modifieds

Gary Hill, Maurice Myre (-36), John Price (-108), Pat Wallace (-119), Chad Johnson (-123), Sean McBee (-123)