RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

2012 Racing Season & Awards Its 2011 Champions

16 March 2012 | Featured News | |    

Electric City Speedway Gears up for the 2012 Racing Season & Awards Its 2011 Champions
By Vikki Higginbotham
The Gold Dust Casino hosted Electric City Speedway’s Kickoff/Awards on Saturday, March 10, 2012 to its largest crowd of fans and drivers. In this new spring meeting, its second year as such, track promoters Dan & Barbara Mann were able to update drivers on current plans for the track, rule and schedule changes and award the previous season’s top dogs.
Over the past few years the track has been developing the outer track area to become level with the track’s surface and the well known “black hole” is no longer there. This outer area has become the upper pits over the years and allowed the track to have the enclosed haulers park there making a better viewing of racing action for spectators and track officials. Turns 1 & 2 have been used in recent years and this new addition will allow for even more outside parking once it is completed.
A new website was launched this year and has many new features for fans. A new logo & look, driver biographies, news stories, photos and information can be found at:
With all the new changes to the speedway, some things will remain the same. The Annual OP car show will be held at the OP, 1200 9th Street South, in Great Falls on April 14, 2012 from Noon to 5 pm. Drivers will show off their 2012 rides and Classic cars will be on display for car enthusiasts. The best viewing of the Independence Day fireworks will still be attending the July 4, 2012 Fireball Special at the track. Quigley’s North American Sprint Tour in August.
However, there are a few changes to scheduling. The Spring Montana Round-Up will still be held the final weekend in April with a double header, but it won’t be the first race. Sunday April 22, 2012 will start racing off at 2 pm. We will be racing with the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series National Tour on Wednesday, July 11, 2012. Additionally, the track has moved its annual Fall Montana Round-Up ahead three weeks to Labor Day weekend. Previously, this event followed the WISSOTA 100 and was the final chance for fans to see racing in Montana as it closed out all dirt track racing events.
Drivers travelled from as far as Billings, Deer Lodge and Helena to receive their awards on Saturday. One of the few drivers missing from the group was the Not So Pure Stock Champion Cody Ryan. A trip to see the NASCAR event in Las Vegas didn’t prevent him from receiving the award though. In his absence his biggest fan and supporter Mary Flesch graciously accepted the trophy on Cody’s behalf. The Rookie of the Year award goes to the highest finishing rookie in the class. This year’s Midwest Modifieds had a slew of rookies battling for the title. However, in taking the championship Sean McBee also claimed the Rookie title. Bri Henrie accepted Josh Aho’s Rookie of the Year award as well.
With pizza consumed, fun and jesting had by many, updates given and awards presented the 2012 Dirt Track Season is ready to kick off. See you at the track.
Awards presented for 2011 are as follows:
Not So Pure Stock: Rookie of the Year – Shannon Cote, Third Place – Patrick Harvie, Second Place – Kory Wermling, Track Champion – Cody Ryan
WISSOTA Street Stock: Rookie of the Year – Bryant Kruckenberg, Third Place – Nick Hunter, Second Place – Paul Lease, Track Champion – Beau Brown, and Montana State Champion – Beau Brown
WISSOTA Midwest Modified: Rookie of the Year – Sean McBee, Third Place – Jacob Tacke, Second Place – Ron Sasek, Track Champion – Sean McBee, and Montana State Champion – Sean McBee
WISSOTA Super Stock: Rookie of the Year – Josh Aho, Third Place – Mike Pistelak, Second Place – Pat LaMere, Track Champion – Pacer Popham, and Montana State Champion – Pat LaMere
WISSOTA Modified: Rookie of the Year – Pat Wallace, Third Place – Paul Donnelly, Second Place – Maurice Myre, Track Champion – Gary Hill, and Montana State Champion – Chad Johnson
WISSOTA Late Model: Rookie of the Year – Mark Steven Fowler, Third Place – Chris Dunn, Second Place – Jim Zaremski, Track Champion – Kelly Hample